Illinois and Chicago Laws
ILLINOIS STATE LAWS
(From the Illinois Humane Care for Animals Act)
Each owner shall provide for each of his/her animals:
(a) sufficient quantity of good quality, wholesome food and water;
(b) adequate shelter and protection from the weather;
(c) veterinary care when needed to prevent suffering; and
(d) humane care and treatment.
Any person convicted of violating this section of the Act is guilty of a class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of up to $500.00 and/or 30 days in jail.
Cruel Treatment (70/3.01)
No person or owner may beat, cruelly treat, torment, starve, overwork or otherwise abuse any animal.
No owner may abandon any animal where it may become a public charge or may suffer injury, hunger or exposure.
Any person convicted of violating this section of the Act is guilty of up to a Class C misdemeanor. A second conviction is a Class B misdemeanor. A third or subsequent conviction is a Class A misdemeanor.
Aggravated Cruelty (70/3.02)
No person may intentionally commit an act that causes a companion animal to suffer serious injury or death. Aggravated cruelty does not include euthanasia of a companion animal through recognized methods approved by the Department of Agriculture.
Any person convicted of violating this section of the Act is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.00 and/or 1 year in jail.
Confinement in Motor Vehicle (70/7.1)
No owner or person shall confine any animal in a motor vehicle in such a manner that places it in a life or health threatening situation by exposure to a prolonged period of extreme heat or cold, without proper ventilation or other protection from such heat or cold. In order to protect the health and safety of an animal, an animal control officer, law enforcement officer, or Department of Agriculture investigator who has probable cause to believe that this Section is being violated shall have authority to enter such motor vehicle by any reasonable means under the circumstances after making a reasonable effort to locate the owner or person.
Any person convicted of violating this section of the Act is guilty of a petty offense. A second or subsequent conviction is a Class C misdemeanor.
CHICAGO CITY ORDINANCES
(And Many Surrounding Suburbs)
A person who violates any of the following provisions may be fined up to $200 for each offense:
The owner of any dog six months of age or older must have his or her dog vaccinated against rabies by a licensed veterinarian. This vaccination prevents the spread of rabies and protects the dog and the public.
The owner of any dog six months of age or older must have a license for his or her dog. Licenses expire on April 30th of each year. Animals should wear license tags at all times, so that they may be identified.
Animal Under Restraint
The owner of a dog must restrain his or her animal by a leash, confined within a crate, cage or vehicle, or confined on the owner's premises.
Removal of Waste
An owner may not take his or her pet on public ways, to public places, or on the property of another person without the property owner's consent unless he or she has some means to remove any excrement deposited by his or her dog. This does not apply to a blind person while walking his or her guide dog.
Owner's Responsibility Where an Animal Has Bitten Another Animal or Person
It shall be the duty and responsibility of the owner of any animal which has bitten any other animal or person to notify the Commission on Animal Care and Control of such a bite. It also shall be the duty and responsibility of the owner to surrender such animal to an Animal Control Center within 24 hours after the animal has bitten any other animal or person, or to have such animal impounded at a humane society or other authorized agency. If, however, a licensed veterinarian is presented evidence that such animal has been inoculated against rabies within the time prescribed by law prior to the biting, such animals shall be confined on the premises of its owner and in a manner which shall prohibit such animal from biting any other animal or person for a period of 10 days. It further shall be the duty and responsibility of the owner to have such animal examined by a licensed veterinarian on the 10th day of impoundment or confinement or as soon thereafter as possible; provided, that the impoundment or confinement of the animal described above shall not be terminated until examination by a veterinarian.
If a licensed animal, which has bitten any animal or person, is to be impounded by the Commission, the owner shall pay the fees for housing of the animal as prescribed in the ordinance. Prior to release of said animal, vaccination and license certificates must be presented.
It shall be unlawful for the owner of any animal, when notified that such animal has bitten any person to sell or give away such animal or to permit or allow such animal to be taken beyond the limits of the city.